Meet Our Team

color_web_medium_small.jpg

Clint Thayer 

Founder
Lead Photographer

clint@focalflame.com
608.772.0048
LinkedIn

Clint Thayer is a professional photographer in Madison, Wisconsin. He was raised on the coast of Lake Erie in the small town of Lakeside, Ohio, surrounded by rocky shorelines and powerful storms. It was in this setting that he first honed his observation of motion, light, and human form.

Clint balances technical aspects of digital photography with a keen sense of composition. Majoring in computer science, Clint studied photography at The College of Wooster in Ohio. He also studied under Richard Clarkson in the Summit Series of Sports Photography at the U.S. Olympic National Training Center in Colorado Springs. Clint is a Pro-level member of the American Society of Media Photographers (ASMP) and the Center for Photography at Madison.  In addition to his photography work, he is a staff photographer at the UW Department of Medicine.  A member of the Mad City Velo bike club, he enjoys biking and spending time with his family - writer and co-founder Robyn Perrin, and their two children. 

asmp_4Lines_CMYK.jpg
902102_10152686170660223_1909336701_o.jpg

Robyn M. Perrin

Founder
Lead Writer

robyn@focalflame.com
LinkedIn 

Born and raised in Ohio, Robyn fell in love with the clear skies and cold winters of Wisconsin the first time she visited Madison. Her professional experience is eclectic, ranging from life science research to technical writing and marketing. She believes in the power of storytelling about down-to-earth people, and feels that blurring the lines between art, business, and language is where the magic happens.

Robyn is a behind the scenes force for marketing and business development for Focal Flame Photography, focusing on "all-around idea generation." She also helped spark the creation of Focal Flame; noticing the passion that Clint had for action photography and the drama portrayed in his images, she said, "People come alive through your lens. The world needs to see more of that."  

Robyn met Clint Thayer, co-owner of Focal Flame Photography, on the first day of college. They’ve been together ever since. Racing together as a cycling tandem team required a lot of coordination, which is paying dividends as they raise their daughters.

Team

Josh Zytkiewicz

Operations Manager
josh@focalflame.com

An Illinois native, Josh acquired his first camera as a senior in high school.  Josh's superpower is planning. How else do you process over 40,000 pictures in 12 hours?

Josh has a Business Management degree from Madison College. He is also an accomplished actor and has written several screenplays.

 

Nolan Ferlic

Assoc. Photographer
nolan@focalflame.com

Brett Stepanik

Assoc. Photographer
brett@focalflame.com

Brett is a dedicated, passionate and loving father to his son Angus as well as being an accomplished world record holding bikepacking cyclist. From near death guacamole inhalation at 12,200 feet to sleeping 9 hours and 45 minutes in an entire week he has plenty of outlandish stories of his journeys and will kindly and excitedly ask you for yours as well.

Will Hughes

Assoc. Photographer
Designer

will@focalflame.com

Josiah Rankin

Assoc. Photographer
josiah@focalflame.com

Originally from St. Louis, Josiah began working at Focal Flame as a high school summer intern in 2016, returning again in summer 2017 as an employee.  In 2018 he decided to make Madison his home. When not working for Focal Flame, he pursues a career as a certified luthier, designing, constructing, and repairing both acoustic and electric guitars.

 

 

 

Tom Harcarik

Assistant Photographer
tom@focalflame.com

Suellen Adams

Writer
Photo Editor

suellen@focalflame.com

Glenda Adams

Photo Editor
Developer

glenda@focalflame.com

Allie Christensen

Designer
Photo Editor

allie@focalflame.com

Locations (By appointment only)

Mailing Address Focal Flame Photography 4210 Nakoma Road Madison, WI 53711

East Side Studio / Office

 

West Side Studio / Office