Meet Our Team

color_web_medium_small.jpg

Clint Thayer 

Founder
Lead Photographer

clint@focalflame.com
608.772.0048
LinkedIn

Clint Thayer is a professional photographer in Madison, Wisconsin. He was raised on the coast of Lake Erie in the small town of Lakeside, Ohio, surrounded by rocky shorelines and powerful storms. It was in this setting that he first honed his observation of motion, light, and human form.

Clint balances technical aspects of digital photography with a keen sense of composition. Majoring in computer science, Clint studied photography at The College of Wooster in Ohio. He also studied under Richard Clarkson in the Summit Series of Sports Photography at the U.S. Olympic National Training Center in Colorado Springs. Clint is a Pro-level member of the American Society of Media Photographers (ASMP) and the Center for Photography at Madison.  In addition to his photography work, he is a staff photographer at the UW Department of Medicine.  A member of the Mad City Velo bike club, he enjoys biking and spending time with his family - writer and co-founder Robyn Perrin, and their two children. 

asmp_4Lines_CMYK.jpg
902102_10152686170660223_1909336701_o.jpg

Robyn M. Perrin

Founder
Lead Writer

robyn@focalflame.com
LinkedIn 

Born and raised in Ohio, Robyn fell in love with the clear skies and cold winters of Wisconsin the first time she visited Madison. Her professional experience is eclectic, ranging from life science research to technical writing and marketing. She believes in the power of storytelling about down-to-earth people, and feels that blurring the lines between art, business, and language is where the magic happens.

Robyn is a behind the scenes force for marketing and business development for Focal Flame Photography, focusing on "all-around idea generation." She also helped spark the creation of Focal Flame; noticing the passion that Clint had for action photography and the drama portrayed in his images, she said, "People come alive through your lens. The world needs to see more of that."  

Robyn met Clint Thayer, co-owner of Focal Flame Photography, on the first day of college. They’ve been together ever since. Racing together as a cycling tandem team required a lot of coordination, which is paying dividends as they raise their daughters.

Team

Josh Zytkiewicz

Operations Manager
Photographer
Videographer

josh@focalflame.com

An Illinois native, Josh acquired his first camera in his senior year of high school.  Soon he found himself attending photography seminars andstudying photography books and videos. The rest is history. He's inspired by how his photography "lets people look at themselves differently, having a better self image."

Josh has a Business Management degree from Madison College. As Editor for the Focal Flame Photography events team, Josh manages details of race day and mans the computer, processing images as they come in from photographers on the course.

Josh loves the excitement and the technical aspects of editing images.  He is an integral part of the process of capturing and delivering great images in a timely way.  He loves what he does, and it shows.

Brett Stepanik

Assoc. Photographer
brett@focalflame.com

Don Newton

Assoc. Photographer
don@focalflame.com

Josiah Rankin

Assist. Photographer
josiah@focalflame.com

Tom Harcarik

Assist. Photographer
tom@focalflame.com

Will Hughes

Assoc. Photographer
Designer

will@focalflame.com

Nolan Ferlic

Assoc. Photographer
nolan@focalflame.com

Suellen Adams

Writer
Photo Editor

suellen@focalflame.com

Glenda Adams

Photo Editor
Developer

glenda@focalflame.com

Locations (By appointment only)

East Side Studio / Office

 

West Side Studio / Office